Book Release · Books · Fantasy · Genres · Jaster's Jokers · New Adult · Reviews · Romance · Street Teams

Ruin by Natalia Jaster

Ruin

by Natalia Jaster

The Second book in the Foolish Kingdoms: Dark Seasons self-published March 29th ,2023

Rating:

NEVER CATCH THE COURT JESTER’S ATTENTION. AND NEVER BE ALONE WITH HIM. Those were the rules. And I’d broken them. The jester had been a dark temptation. Forbidden. Magnetic. Seductive. His wicked tongue was impossible to resist. Captive to my enemy’s heated embrace, I became his obsession. And this devious, sensuous trickster became my destiny. Now our fates are linked. In a kingdom where passion and power clash, I’m the ruined princess he’d walk through fire to protect. But deadly threats are closing in. A dangerous game has begun against the Crown. And if I don’t make a cruel deal, my heart will be forced to choose. My claim to the throne. Or my desire for the jester. That is, if his sizzling touch doesn’t shatter me first. WARNING: This is the second book in a scorching hot NA/New Adult fantasy romance series with explicit sexual content and language. For readers 18+ who want heavy steam and enemies to lovers. FOR CWs: Please check the author’s website.

Ok so I don’t remember giving Natalia permission to rip my still beating heart out but I guess I don’t need it.

I adore her writing and Ruin is no exception. If you’ve read her Foolish Kingdoms series before this rewrite then you will adore all these little glimpses that Jaster has managed to fit into this second book of all the next couples. I adore that we are getting to know several of the characters, including Nicu and Aire, better. The relationship between Briar and Nicu were such tear jerker moments. I literally needed a tissue box handy cause I kept tearing up.

That being said, I’m super anxious about how this is going to affect the rest of the series. Ruin, though, literally ruined me.

The spice was Carolina Reaper level and the growth of not just the relationship but of Poet and Briar themselves was wonderful. I can’t say better things about that whole thing. But that still doesn’t excuse the way I’m book-hungover and how I cried big tears and how that cliff is going to get resolved.

I’m still lowkey in shock by the twists and turns that I could not begin to guess what was going to happen. Briar experienced so much growth it was wonderful. She managed to find her way by herself and alongside Poet. The way that both of them opened up and let each other in and let each other help the other when neither had ever done that was *chef’s kiss* masterful.

Poet was shown that he didn’t need to be “on” all the time. It was all just absolutely wonderful. Even the ending. Because we got to see both characters realize that they would need to keep their love strong in other ways that wasn’t smex. Ruin was amazing but I recommend having tissues because the way these characters grow is painful. Huge recommend to the book as well but just know that there is a huge hole in my chest with my heart still beating in Natalia Jaster’s hands.

Let me know what you think, booknerds!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.