Books · Reviews

This Queen has a name

Nameless Queen

by Rebecca McLaughlin

A Teens and YA book published by Crown Books for Young Readers on January 7th, 2020

Rating:

One girl must make a name for herself–or die trying –in this royal fantasy where an unknown peasant becomes the ultimate ruler. But how long can she keep the crown if everyone wants her dead? Perfect for fans of Furyborn, Red Queen, and Everless. Everyone expected the king’s daughter would inherit the throne. No one expected me. It shouldn’t even be possible. I’m Nameless, a class of citizens so disrespected, we don’t even get names. Heck, dozens of us have been going missing for months and no one seems to care. But there’s no denying the tattoo emblazoned on my arm. I am queen. In a palace where the corridors are more dangerous the streets, though, how could I possibly rule? And what will become of the Nameless if I don’t?

Nameless Queen was more about family and finding yourself and the group you belong to more than about a ruler who shouldn’t be a ruler.

Coin, the main character, is part of this level of citizenship that was not part of the law. They did not have names and were outside of the law. Staying alive by becoming criminals. It was a little slower than I liked but it had awesome character development.

I was, honestly, not really paying much attention to Coin but instead to her sister, Glenquartz and Hat. And the awesome, amazing, beautiful family developing between these four characters. It was adorable and sweet and it melted my heart. Hat acted like the best little sister and Glenquartz was the consummate pseudo big brother.

Nameless Queen was about family and Rebecca McLaughlin did amazing.

Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.