blog tour · Books · Reviews

Hearts, Strings, this book is not a breakable thing.

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things

by Jacqueline Firkins

A Young Adult Romance (with an air of retellings) published by HMH Books for Young Readers on December 17th, 2019

Rating:

In this charming debut about first love and second chances, a young girl gets caught between the boy next door and a playboy. Perfect for fans of To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before. Mansfield, Massachusetts is the last place seventeen-year-old Edie Price wants to spend her final summer before college. It’s the home of wealthy suburbanites and prima donnas like Edie’s cousins, who are determined to distract her from her mother’s death with cute boys and Cinderella-style makeovers. Edie has her own plans, and they don’t include a prince charming. But as Edie dives into schoolwork and applying for college scholarships, she finds herself drawn to two Mansfield boys who start vying for her attention. First there’s Sebastian, Edie’s childhood friend and first love. He’s sweet and smart and . . . already has a girlfriend. Then there’s Henry, the local bad boy and all-around player. He’s totally off limits, even if his kisses are chemically addictive. Both boys are trouble. Edie can’t help but get caught between them. Someone’s heart is going to break. Now she just has to make sure it isn’t hers.

This YA Romance by Jacqueline Firkins has a distinctive air of a bit of a retelling.

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things was a good and cute read. Edie, the main character, was very independent, or so she seemed, and she tried to stay that way throughout the book despite outward forces pressuring her to conform to the norm.

Edie grew a lot during the course of the book. She fell in and out of love and went through the stages of being a teenager.

I, myself, didn’t love the book. It was a little annoying what with Edie having a little but of wishy-washy feelings but it added to the story and Edie’s characterization. It was necessary. The love triangle, and yes there is one, while annoying, was necessary for Edie to grow and learn how to trust herself and her feelings.

I did feel as though Edie was a little too dependent, despite the fact that she was independent with her actions. Edie’s thoughts, feelings, and memories were a little too dependent. But other than that it was a really cute read on first love. The retelling comes in with references to Austen’s work and the similarity to the characters between the books.

GIVEAWAY BELOW!!! INSTAGRAM EXCLUSIVE!

View this post on Instagram

👫 G I V E A W A Y 💔 . . Happy Wednesday, Beautiful Bookish People! Have you visited any Christmas Markets? What is your favourite drink during winter time? . Today, we have a very cute and special book to share with you: #HeartsStringsAndOtherBreakableThings by Jacqueline Firkins. I say special, because I love summer romances, and this book is perfect for this winter because it makes me start daydreaming about summer and my favourite stories! In this novel, we meet Edie about to spend her last summer before colleague in a place she would rather not be while dealing with her mother's passing. While she keeps trying to stay focused on colleague, 2 distractions in the form of a bad-boy and her old-time crush come knocking on her door, leading to heartbreak and romance. Edie just needs to make sure she's not the one getting her heart broken! . I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE stories like this one and today we have partnered with Jacqueline (@jfkillsdarlings) to give you not only the chance to win a hardcopy of #HSAOBT but also a book-inspired dress! 3 designs available. 3 prizes! Swipe left to see pics (⬅️). . . ENTRIES FOR THE GIVEAWAY: ▪︎Follow @theffbc & @whatmakespatri ▪︎Follow the author @jfkillsdarlings ▪︎Follow the publishing house @hmhteen ▪︎Comment (to let us know you are participating!): Which dress do you like the most (& why)? . EXTRA ENTRIES FOR THE GIVEAWAY: ▪︎Tag a friend (each friend will be an extra entry). ▪︎Share on your stories about the giveaway (remember to tag me @whatmakespatri and @theffbc) ▪︎Follow @michellesulk & @artsyreadergirl . ▪︎Follow any other FFBC team member participating in the tour (let us know on the comment section who did you follow). Check everyone's Instagram handles below: @wishfulendings @l.m.durand @BookBriefs @stars.brite @booknerdanonymous @shelflifechronicles @agingerlyreview @lauren.bodiford . Also, stop by @whatmakespatri to read an interview with Jacqueline and learn more about #HSAOBT! And to our site to follow the tour! . . #bookshimmy #giveaway #bookstagram #bookblogger #bookstagramming #bookgram #yabookstagram #ireadya #booksatgrammer #bibliophile #bookphotography #booknerd #booklover #amreading

A post shared by Favourite Pages Book Club (@favouritepagesclub) on

Let me know what you think!

One thought on “Hearts, Strings, this book is not a breakable thing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.