Books · Reviews

Here kitty kitty! (a review of Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan)

Tiger Queen

by Annie Sullivan

A Fantasy Young Adult novel published on September 10th by Blink Publishing

Rating:

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.

The Tiger Queen was more than just about a girl finding her destiny. It was about finding yourself. As cheesy as that sounds. Kateri was a young girl shaped and manipulated by those around her in order to use her for the throne.

Kateri was the ultimate warrior queen throughout the book. She had her mind totally changed and rechanged through The Tiger Queen and I was in awe of the strength that she carried through in everything. Kateri became a part of the group that she had sworn to destroy in order to become stronger than her enemy.

Cion was the ultimate foil to Kateri and I loved their relationship. He was so supportive of her from the beginning when no one else was and it brought Kateri the most amount of self-importance. It wasn’t that it made her have too much hubris. It made her believe in herself more and not rely on someone else’s opinion on her.

The character development in Kateri was astounding. The writing was poetic and uber descriptive. Honestly, I’m wondering why I didn’t read Annie Sullivan before..

The Tiger Queen was almost perfect. I wanted a little more romance but it was nearly perfect. I loved it

Take a look at my aesthetic for Tiger Queen!

Let me know what you think when you read it!

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

One thought on “Here kitty kitty! (a review of Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.